Team evaluation and personal reflection

Working as a team was one of the major enablers for the completion of this task. This is because it facilitated the division of work, so that every member had to only consider one aspect of the overall task. Because the team brought together people with different backgrounds and perspectives, it was helpful in helping me appreciate different perspectives, and this facilitated learning of some things I was not previously aware of. However, it also brought about the potential for conflict and the clash of ideas, which however, was handled well since we had a team leader who had strong leadership skills.

My contribution to the team work covered the specifically: Inspiration theme, brand and competitor analysis, the trend forecasting theories, fabric buying.

By addressing the above areas, the project has enabled me to learn a few things I was not aware of. These include understanding the various elements that make up a brand (e.g. brand identity, brand equity, brad image, etc.), and to be able to relate them practically to a fashion brand (Dior).  It has also reinforced what I knew regarding trend forecasting theories, how fashion brands carry out market intelligence, as well as how to carry out a macro trend analysis.

In my opinion, my performance with regards to the highlighted areas has adequately and effectively addressed all the salient issues required in the rubric, although a more thorough analysis was restricted by the word count limits imposed. Given another opportunity to do the same project, therefore, there are a few things which I would do differently. In the area of brand analysis, I would include more elements which I was not able to address. These include: examining Dior’s brand personality, a more detailed analysis of its positioning vis-à-vis its competitors, differentiation, and brand experience. I would also include more trend forecasting theories, instead of just the three trickle theories (e.g. Theory of shifting erogenous zones).   


發表留言